The International Conference on Randomization and Computation (RANDOM) was started in 1997 by Jose D.P. Rolim, with the purpose of presenting research in theory of computer science, focusing on applications of randomness to computational and combinatorial problems. It has since become an annual event, attracting researchers from all over the world. Jose served as the chair of the steering committee since 1997 till 2018, and closely monitored the organization of all annual meetings.

RANDOM has been typically co-located with its sibling conference: The international Conference on Approximation Algorithms for Combinatorial Problems (APPROX), which was started in 1998 by Klaus Jansen, and focuses on algorithmic and complexity theoretic issues relevant to the development of efficient approximate solutions to computationally difficult problems.

All Past Conferences

All past conferences of RANDOM are indexed in DBLP. Below are links to most of the original websites of the conferences:

  • 2022: Virtual, PC Chair: Amit Chakrabarti
  • 2021: Virtual (due to Covid-19), PC Chair: Mary Wooters
  • 2020: Virtual (due to Covid-19), PC Chair: Raghu Meka
  • 2019: MIT, PC Chair: Dimitris Achlioptas
  • 2018: Princeton, PC Chair: Eric Blais
  • 2017: Berkeley, PC Chair: Santosh S. Vempala
  • 2016: IHP, Paris, PC Chair: Chris Umans
  • 2015: Princeton, PC Chair: Anup Rao
  • 2014: UPC, Barcelona, PC Chair: Cristopher Moore
  • 2013: Berkeley, PC Chair: Sofya Raskhodnikova
  • 2012: MIT, PC Chair: Rocco A. Servedio
  • 2011: Berkeley, PC Chair: Leslie Ann Goldberg
  • 2010: UPC, Barcelona, PC Chair: Ronen Shaltiel
  • 2009: Berkeley, PC Chair: Irit Dinur
  • 2008: MIT, PC Chair: Ronitt Rubinfeld
  • 2007: Princeton, PC Chair: Omer Reingold
  • 2006: UPC, Barcelona, PC Chair: Josep Diaz
  • 2005: Berkeley, PC Chair: Luca Trevisan
  • 2004: Harvard, PC Chair: Dana Ron
  • 2003: Princeton, PC Chair: Amit Sahai
  • 2002: Cambridge, MA, PC Chair: Salil P. Vadhan
  • 2001: Berkeley, PC Chair: Luca Trevisan
  • 2000: Geneva, PC Chair: Andrei Broder
  • 1999: Berkeley, PC Chair: Alistair Sinclair
  • 1998: Barcelona, PC Chair: Michael Luby
  • 1997: Bolognna, PC Chair: Jose D.P. Rolim